An interview with Georgia Brown, writer and star of Daddy’s Girl

daddys-girl-square

We spoke to Georgia Brown about her experience of writing Daddy’s Girl, her debut play, which opens at VAULT Festival at the end of the month.

What made you decide to write this play?

I always knew it was something I wanted to write about and as I got older I became more invested in prisons and the problems surrounding our prison system. It’s a human angle, as it’s about a father daughter relationship, so hopefully people will be able to connect to it even if they have no experience of prisons themselves.

Is it something you’ve been working on for a long time?

It actually started out as a one woman show which I scrapped many years ago, then about a year ago I just sat down and wrote it. Finally.

What was the most enjoyable thing about the writing process? And the hardest?

The most enjoyable was finally being able to create stories out of my experience rather than feeling like it had to be 100% truthful to my personal life, but that was also the hardest part too.

What do you hope audiences will take away from the show?

Their drinks. And their seats.

No.

Sometimes I think it is easy to forget about our huge prison population so I hope it reminds people that they are there and they have families too and that we’re all human. Also that our prison system currently sucks. I want the the audience to laugh and to cry. Which is also what I want people to do at my funeral.

How did you find writing about a subject that is so personal to you?

It is personal, but after a while the characters became their own, they are no longer what they were at the beginning; it’s a fictional journey that is rooted in my truth.

What does your dad think about the play?

My dad hasn’t read the play. I have his blessing…I think.

What are you most looking forward to in the rehearsal process?

It becoming more of a collaboration. And working with the legend that is MARK WINGETT! I remember watching Quadrophenia for the first time when I was about sixteen and thinking he was so cool and cute. I thought he was cute. And then the Bill. He’s just great. And Alice is everything an actor wants in a director. She has such a clear vision, and she’s super calm and cool.

How does it feel for Daddy’s Girl to be a part of VAULT Festival?

It’s great. It’s such an amazing festival and I’ve already got a huge list of shows I want to see. VAULT Festival is such a brilliant platform for new writing, it’s really an honour to be a part of it.

Are there any nerves setting in ahead of your show’s festival run?

I am nervous yes. I can’t really respond to this question because just thinking about it makes me feel a bit anxious.

Have you always had a passion for theatre? 

Yes. Ever since I heard Irene Cara sing Fame.

What’s next for you, and for Daddy’s Girl?

I hope we have a future life after Vault, we certainly have a fantastic team and I think it’s a subject matter that is timely and important, and deserves to be seen by as many people as possible.

Daddy’s Girl runs at VAULT Festival from the 27th – 28th January. Tickets £15.

 

About threestreetsproductions

At Three Streets Productions, we're passionate about new writing. We’re dedicated to working in collaboration with writers to nurture and develop unique, fresh and exciting theatre. We are excited by plays that push language in unexpected directions. We like plays that ask questions about the world in which we live. We also run workshops, scratch nights and rehearsed readings – watch this space for more details. If you’re a writer and you’d like to get involved, we’d love to hear from you. Recent productions include Freefall: A Double Bill (New Wimbledon Studio), The Ones Who Kill Shooting Stars (White Bear Theatre) and The Bird Trap (Lost Theatre).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

